Origin date: December 13, 2009

To be totally honest and fair, this is a post with a different motive than usual. I am posting right now in an effort to take my mind off the events of the past week. And believe me, it has been an eventful week. The range of emotions has really run the gamut this week. My heart hurts and sits and waits for a friend to feel better. I am hoping that when she emerges, she realizes what an amazing, beautiful woman she is and she is emboldened by her war wounds. She only deserves the best and I want her to know it.

I also sit and wait for another friend to heal through a tough time and hope that he realizes how much people love and value him. But he’s in good hands, he has a mother bear to look out for him. She’s my insides, and I know she will be the best support he could have.

IMG_7037
On a lighter note….please let there be one. Elation has been an emotion that has come up A LOT this week but I have to reign it in. My face was sore from smiling earlier this week and I’ve done more talking this week in a 2 day span than I have in the last month. And if you know me, you’ll know I am just that side of chatty. Talk has covered everything from Brie sandwiches, strangers living in crawl spaces above closets, and the reconciling of the soul with the necessity of money. Who knew I had such a great memory? It certainly has served me well.
IMG_7182
I think of all of the times that things have not gone the way we’ve wanted it to. The disappointment and heartbreak of watching your friends go through the same thing. It seems so much worse, at least for me. I have a horrible need to try to fix it, find any solution to the problem. Solutions could range from a plate full or freshly made scones or a baseball bat – I’m a bit protective of my friends. I tend to stick with food as a soother because the latter generally doesn’t end well. So, what would I do if I could have all of those mentioned above in my living room right now? I’d served them a steaming bowl of the following, hoping the bright color would cheer them up, offer comforting words and/or maybe reflect on the soul being able to rise above basest of necessities.

IMG_7175
Yellow Pepper Soup

1 tbsp olive oil

2 large yellow peppers

2 large leeks, halved lengthwise, sliced thin

1 garlic clove, smashed

1 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp turmeric

3 springs flat leave parsley or 1 tsp of dried parsley

3 sprigs of thyme or 1 tsp of dried thyme

1 bay leaf

2 medium russet potatoes, cubed

4 cups water

Salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over med-low heat. Added peppers, leeks, garlic, salt, turmeric. Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables begin to soften, about 10 mins.

Tie parsley and thyme sprigs together with kitchen twine. Add to saucepan with water, potatoes and bay leaf. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered until potato is very tender, about 20 mins. If using dried herbs, just add directly to saucepan.

Discard herb bundle and bay leaf. Puree soup in a blender or a hand-held immersion blender. If using a standing blender, puree in small batches and crack the lid to allow steam to escape while you blend. Return to pot and reheat. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm.

IMG_7192
IMG_7196
I’d serve it with a grilled cheese sandwich and maybe a hug or two….

comfort food

