Origin date: January 16, 2010

A couple of weeks ago I got a call from my sister (of Chinese Bear fame) and after a few moments the underlying motivation for the call was revealed, “I really want cookies.” She wanted to bake a fresh batch of cookies from scratch and was looking for a recipe. I could totally sympathize with this notion. With all of the scariness of trans fats and the strange, un-pronounceable additions to the baked goods found in stores these days, the only way to go is to make the delectable treats yourself. But what recipe to use?

As a regular peruser of many different food blogs and admirer of many much more talented foodies, I knew just where to look for a reliable, fool-proof recipe. SmittenKitchen has been an early favorite food blog for me. When I was completely new to the whole concept of food blogging, I found this little gem almost by accident. I was looking for a recipe for ratatouille that looked like the dish in the movie ‘Ratatouille‘. The animated film had advisement from one of my favorite chefs, Thomas Keller. He actually just whipped up a ratatouille recipe for the producers in his restaurant kitchen and then they used the finished product as a model for the dish in the film. SmittenKitchen had a great adaptation of the ratatouille recipe. Anyway, I’m getting way off topic…

I searched SmittenKitchen and sure enough, I found this great Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.

My sister brought over these delicious, milk chocolate chips that were gigantic! They were almost too sweet for this recipe but ‘too sweet’ is easily over-looked for such an occasion. We began our toiling in the kitchen as my roommate looked on in anticipation.


My sister always has a knack for suggesting activities that sound like a hassle at first but she is the model of persistence, or obnoxious depending on the tone. At first, I had a knee-jerk reaction: “You want to make cookies now? But its getting late.” Her response: “Getting late? What are you a senior citizen?” How do you argue with such a challenge? She pushes, none too gently, for these activities and it always seems to work out for the better in the end. This instance was no exception to her, somewhat pushy, talents of persuasion.



After all our hard work, which was REALLY not that hard, we had these amazing cookies that we ate warm out of the oven and that filled my little apartment with the most heavenly aroma of vanilla, chocolate and brown sugar. We curled up on my couch and watched Gene Kelly strut his stuff in ‘
Singing in the Rain‘, with a cookie in each hand and blanket wrapped around us.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, my sister is BRILLIANT! I definitely suggest you spring an Impromptu cookie night on your sibling/ loved one/ friend/ roommate. And DON’T TAKE ‘NO’ FOR AN ANSWER! It was the perfect end to a hectic Wednesday night. I’ve already got plans for another Impromptu cookie night that involves Vanilla Almond cookies and maybe It Happened One Night. You in?

Here is that Crispy Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe one more time, courtesy of SmittenKitchen.com.

