I had planned to post new entries with recipes on Thursday night but my stomach had other plans. On Wednesday night I had some of my favorite girls over for dinner and a movie. It had been such a long time since we had a girls night together and it was very much needed. I made a famous 3 ingredient tomato pasta sauce, we had ‘the best broccoli of your life’ (from the Amateur Gourmet), an amazing spinach and berry salad that my friend Jessica brought, baguette with olive oil and balsamic, crispy baked kale chips (from steamykitchen.com) and for dessert, a peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream (courtesy of Maureen). (I will be making the pasta sauce and posting the pictures and recipe later on, so watch out for that.) It was an awesome meal and it was so good to have them come over. We ate until we were near drowsy and then watched Sense and Sensibility. (‘Does she care for olives?’)

I wrapped up the night and still went to bed at a reasonable hour. I got up at 5:30 the next morning to get ready for work. I felt exhausted but just chalked that up to so much activity the night before and dismissed it. I got to work and 10 mins. into my second conference call it hit like wave crashing against me. I doubled over my keyboard and fought back the surge of saliva and bile that began to creep up my throat. I finished the call, acting my ass off to make sure that the other participants didn’t know I was ill. As soon as the receiver hit the cradle, I threw off my headset and lunged for my garbage can. I didn’t actually throw up but it was such a painful wave of nausea, I couldn’t sit straight up for fear of wretching all over my keyboard. And I had four more calls scheduled. Not good.

I fought my way through another call and went in to see a superior, maybe she had something for nausea. She took one look at me and told me to go home. I fought it for a bit but she finally convinced me to reschedule my calls and go home for the day. I packed up and as soon as I got down to my car, I called my girls. I thought, ‘dear god, I’ve doomed them to food poisoning.’ They both seemed fine and thus, I determined it wasn’t the dinner from the night before. My significant other seemed to be unaffected as well. So what the hell was going on? (And no, not preggers here!)

I went home and sat on the couch for a bit, dazed and weak. I finally got up and went to bed around 10 or 11 am. I woke up from a completely black sleep and looked at the clock. It was just after 4 in the afternoon.

I lay on the couch until Tennis Mike (roommate) came home and saw me, “Are you okay?” The sweetest look of concern on his face. I told him about my day and he was sympathetic. On his way out to play tennis (go figure), he offered to bring me food. I had eaten breakfast at 6 am and that was it. I really needed to eat something but there is only a short list of things that I want to eat when I feel this way. Most of those things are made by my mother, only 2 or 3 are not. Since my mother was nowhere nearby I had a smaller list to choose from. I squeaked out my request in a pitiful tone, “They have the most amazing, real Japanese ramen noodle soup at Koko Kitchen, would you get that for me?” Puppy dog eyes are inevitable in these situations. He went bounding down the stairs and said he would also bring me a 7-Up for my upset stomach.

Awesome roommate.

He came back a little while later with the steaming gingery, garlicy broth and springy egg noodles that was my ramen. He also had a bowl of curry udon noodle soup for himself. This ain’t your poor student version of ramen. Real Japanese ramen is an art and this was no exception. Their broth is a rich, velvety, savory, steaming bowl of comfort in it’s purest form. This is one of the few things that I will eat when I’m sick that isn’t made by mom. Moms generally have the market on feel good comfort food. I sat at the dinner table, wobbly and slightly sweaty from the nap earlier and slowly slurped my noodles. Yeah, I slurp my noodles when I’m sick. What of it? The soup and the Sprite (they didn’t have 7-Up) made me feel so much better. I snapped a few photos after I felt like myself again.

As the days get cooler, a huge bowl of steaming noodle soup is the perfect food for the season. If you have the opportunity I would definitely head over to Koko Kitchen and order a bowl of their ramen. Unless you have a Japanese mother that has her own amazing recipe for ramen, your eyes will be opened.

If you’re adventurous enough to make your own steaming bowl of noodle soup, check out these recipes on steamykitchen and momofukufor2.

Mmmmm…. a big bowl of happy.

